Suishinshi Masatsugu Tachi with Koshira

„Suishinshi Masatsugu“, born as Kawabe Hokushi, was the grandson of one of the most famous swordsmiths of the Shinshinto period, „Suishinshi Masahide“.
A student of Masahide was the equally famous „Taikei Naotane“. He was Masatsugu`s teacher and adopted him. Later Masatsugu married Naotane´s daughter and became head of the Kawabe Masahide clan. Masatsugu could have called himself then Suishinshi Masahide(III). Because of his highly praized workmanship he had already been awarded the honorary name "Suishinshi" and he preferred to call himself "Suishinshi Masatsugu".
Born 1814, most of his works dates between 1835 and 1858. He passed away in 1860, at the age of 46.

This is an exellent Tachi, made in the highest quallity from Suishinshi Masatsugu. These blade is made in the Bizen style and has a good form and balance. You can find a few blades from him on the market, but these one is one of his best quallity and rare to find.


Koshirae: Superb itomaki-no-tachi-koshirae , saya has fine nashiji-laquer with gold laquered Aoi-Mon (crest of the Tokugawa family). All fittings are original und matching made of finest shakudo-nanako with application of numerous Aoi-Mon in gold. Tsuka and saya are wrapped with gold coloured silk, nice matching silk sageo. 19.Jh.

Suishinshi Masatsugu Tachi mit Koshira

„Suishinshi Masatsugu“, mit bürgerlichem Namen Kawabe Hokushi, war der Enkel eines der berühmtesten Schwertschmiede der Shinshinto Periode, „Suishinshi Masahide“.
Ein Schüler von Masahide war der gleichfalls berühmte „Taikei Naotane“. Er war auch Lehrer und Adoptivvater von Masatsugu. Masatsugu heiratete später sogar Naotanes Tochter und wurde Oberhaupt der Kawabe Masahide Familie. Masatsugu hätte sich dann ebenfalls Suishinshi Masahide(III) nennen können, da er wegen seiner hochwertigen Arbeit bereits den Titel Suishinshi erhalten hatte, zog er es vor, sich „Suishinshi Masatsugu“ zu nennen.
1814 geboren, lag seine Hauptschaffenszeit zwischen 1835 und 1858. Er starb 1860, im Alter von erst 46 Jahren.

Dies ist eine hochwertige Tachi Klinge von Suishinshi Masatsugu, gemacht im Bizen Stiel. Die Klinge hat eine sehr gute Form und läst sich gut führen. Es gibt einige Klingen von ihm auf dem Markt, aber in dieser quallität sehr schwer zu finden.


Montierung: Hochfeine Itomaki-No-Tachi-Montierung , saya in feinem Nashiji-Lack mit Aoi-Mon (Wappen der Tokugawa Familie) in Goldlack. Alle Beschläge original und en suite in feinstem Shakudo-Nanako mit zahlreichen Applikationen von Aoi-Mon in Gold. Tsuka und Saya mit goldfarbener Seide gewickelt, passendes Sageo. 19.Jh.